Wednesday, March 25, 2009

විෙශ්ෂ කාර්ය බළකාය - Special Task Force

The Special Task Force is an elite Special Task Force Unit of SL Police.They Specialized in Highly Terrorists & Insurgency Operations.It was formed in 1983 as a highly specialized Police Unit.Also known as the Cream of SL Police.They were mostly on Duty Eastern Provience of the Country & other units are deployed in Colombo & Provide VIP Security.

History -

After 1971 insurrection in Sri Lanka , most of the Police Stations were attacked By JVP.Because of that there were suggestions to train & equip the Police for duties above normal Police Functions.How ever nothing has done till 1983, when the out break viloence convinced the Government to form a Special Counter Terrorist & Counter Intergency Police Force called The Special Task Force.

Interesting Facts -
  • Formed in 1983
  • First Trained by SL Army & given basic knowledge on Infantry weapons & training how to deal withJungle warfare
  • Base of the force is situated in Kaluthara
  • Special Training were given by British Special Air Force (SAS) & Israel Internal Security Agency .
  • Motto - "Niyatha Jaya" (Certain Victory)
  • Approximately 6000 personnel on duty
Commandants of the Special Task Force
  • SDIG Bodhi Liyanage
  • SDIG Zerney Wijesuriya
  • SDIG Lionel Karunasena
  • SDIG Dharmasiri Weerakon
  • DIG Nimal Gunathilake
  • DIG Nimal Lewke
  • DIG K.M.L.Sarathchandra

  • Here is A Documentary Programme about The Special Task Force of Sri Lanka by Chris Ryan for Elite World Cops.


Post a Comment


Malindaz Blog - සයිබර් අවකාශයේ සිහින සක්මන. Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved